Sunrise on the Battery

When I first read the summary of this book, my first impressions were that this book seemed interesting. After downloading the E-book file, I made several attempts to begin reading it but never was able to get past the opening paragraphs of that book did not catch my attention; essentially I was bored of the book from the very start. Once I realized the deadline I had to reach – to finish reading the book and write the review, it really pushed me to get through the book. As I read through the chapters, the story really began to pick up and my attention was grabbed. I honestly couldn’t get away from the computer; it was hard to leave to go to church, to my chores, homework, packing etc.

Sunrise on the Battery is about a couple – Mary-Lynn and Jackson who determine to get a better life for their three girls. Jackson is a driven, motivated and hard-working man who is determined that his children will get the best education possible therefore enrolling them in string lessons, French, Spanish lessons and much more. Mary-Lynn sees the impact her husband’s force is upon her children therefore she urges her Christian friends to pray for her husband to find God. God took those prayers seriously and eventually Jackson accepts Jesus as his Lord. His transformation proves to be life-changing; and all of a sudden is evangelizing any where he can, inviting strangers to his home and giving away money. Their children are confused and wonder whether their father is acting or if he’s gone crazy.

Beth Hart is able to marvelously weave the story, with a surprising twist near the end. Overall, this book was very slow at the beginning failing to capture my attention from the start but as you continue to read it eventually picks up and it proves to be a great novel. You will not be disappointed – 4 stars here!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

